A password-protected directory or area is a folder which may be accessed only if a username and a password are entered, so no unauthorized people can view its content. This function can be used for the main folder of a certain site or exclusively for a particular subfolder based upon your requirements. As an example, when you are creating a new Internet site and you do not want people to see it before it is ready, you have to limit the access to it entirely, and if you need only some people to be able to access certain files, you are able to password-protect only a certain folder, while the remainder of the website may be seen by anyone. Either way, a “403 Forbidden” error page will appear when the login details the visitor enters are not correct. Even a direct link to a file won't work as long as any folder above it is password-protected.
Password Protected Directories in Hosting
Setting up a password-protected area will take merely a couple of mouse clicks and a few seconds when you host your sites inside a hosting account with our company. You'll not have to do anything challenging - you'll have to choose a domain/subdomain, to pick which folder under it should be protected, and then to input the login name and password that will be used to access that folder. If a number of individuals require their own login details, there won't be a problem to set up several different usernames with access to the very same folder. All protected folders shall appear with a padlock icon within the File Manager section, so you shall always know where this function is enabled. If you want to deactivate the security function for any folder, you can deactivate it from the same section of the CP where you have enabled it.